Random musings from a Wife, Mom, Homeschooler, Student, and Friend

I was browsing through the latest Ballard Designs catalog when I came across this pretty table:

20140120-133709.jpg

A few weeks ago, I would have been looking at that table, sighing with longing. But not yesterday! With a grin I showed it to The Hubs and pointed to the breakfast room at my table.

Thanks to this…

20140120-140911.jpg

…my ugly orange veneered table looks beautiful!

I loved this table the minute I saw it, orange tint and all, because I saw its potential to be the table I’ve been searching for. A couple of coats of CeCe Caldwell’s Young Kansas Wheat color transformed it into the table! It’s narrower than most dining tables, which works beautifully in our space, but it can still seat 8 with both leaves in. I distressed it slightly and left all the brush marks visible. All the brush strokes go the same direction, and it gives the table a weathered wood look. I hit it with a couple of coats of polycrylic for wash-and-durability.

A hint of the old finish peeks through for some character:

20140120-140427.jpg

I found this pair of painted blue chairs at the same antique market where I got the paint–love them with this table!

20140120-140437.jpg

Loving the mix of chairs and colors. (Here’s the post about the recovered shield-back chairs)

20140120-140452.jpg

20140120-140501.jpg

UPDATE: I had a chance to speak with Kathy Cook of The Vintage Dames at her booth in the Antique Marketplace in Lemoyne, PA today. This is where I buy all of the great CeCe Caldwell products that I have and will be using. Kathy is fantastic! She not only loves the CeCe Caldwell products, but she also is passionate about sharing tips and ideas with her customers. She is so fun to talk to!  I can’t wait to show off my next project–a rescued buffet–when it is all finished. For now, I’ll just tease y’all by saying that I will be using CeCe’s new metallic wax!!!

Comments on: "Reloved Table, CeCe Caldwell’s Paint" (2)

  1. You nailed it!

  2. […] weeks (probably months) of should I? or shouldn’t I? I decided to paint it navy blue like the chairs in my breakfast room. I decided to try yet another new-to-me paint from Caromal Colours’ Country Living Textured […]

Leave a Reply

