Random musings from a Wife, Mom, Homeschooler, Student, and Friend

Today is our homeschool portfolio evaluation for the 2012-2013 school year. We finished up 5 of the 6 unit studies in Trail Guide to Learning: Paths of Exploration. Although it won’t “count” for the state’s purposes, we will work on the final unit (which is mostly review) for the rest of this month.

So, my final impressions of Trail Guide? LOVE IT! In fact, we are going to continue with Paths of Settlement  for the 2013-2014 school year. I am going to make some adjustments for The Boy (I’ll post about that later), but the girls will be going all out on Paths of Settlement.

The best adjustment I made with this curriculum was getting away from the pre-printed notebooking pages. Other than printing up the occasional map and specialty worksheet, this curriculum works beautifully with “homemade” notebooking. That is another thing I love about this curriculum–all the pages you need come on a CD with the main textbooks. This is also a great choice for those who are required to keep a portfolio–it’s built in!

 

 

Edited to add:

 

Our thoughts and prayers go out to the family and friends of Debbie Strayer. She will continue to have a positive impact on all of the lives she touched with her work.

 

Comments on: "End of the Trail" (4)

  1. Thank you for your post. It is helpful as I contemplate using Trail Guide for the upcoming school year. I was considering purchasing the preprinted notebook pages because I really hate the time involved to print things up for 2 kids as well as the possibility of not having a worksheet on hand if I get behind in preparation, etc. You mentioned homemade pages in your post. Do you just use notebook paper? Without seeing exactly what all the pages look like from the Trail Guide notebook and having never done “notebooking” I don’t know what that looks like. Sounds very cost effective though. 🙂 Thanks in advance for your reply.

    • Hi Jamie,

      Yes, the homemade notebooking pages were just regular notebook paper. We used a 3-ring binder with dividers for each “subject” — copywork, language arts/word study, history, writing, science, etc. I have serious issues with paper conservation, so I had the kids use the same sheet of paper for things like copywork and vocabulary until it was filled front and back. At the beginning of a new 6-week study, they got a new sheet. They thought that was just like Christmas. LOL

      The pre-printed sheets are nice–I just couldn’t handle all the wasted white space when I knew I could cram in 5 times as much information on one sheet of paper. If you go to this link– http://www.home-school-curriculum.com/files/samples/SNSample5.pdf –you will see a sample of the notebooking pages from the company.

      One other reason for doing my own notebooking pages was that the subjects sometimes ended up on the same sheet. (For example, the front of a page may have Word Study and the back of the page may have Science.) Not a biggie, but I live in a high homeschool regulation state, and I needed to delineate between each subject for my district.

      The CD that comes with the materials has everything you need on it. It really is easy to just print what you need and go, as you go. The bookmarks on the CD make it really easy to find the day and subject needed for each level. I rarely printed anything in advance.

      I’ve truly never been this happy with any curriculum before. I tell anyone who will listen just how great Trail Guide is! I wish you the best as you decide. Please let me know if I can answer any other questions.

      • Jamie said:

        Thanks a bunch! Your insights are very helpful, and I may just take you up on that offer to answer other questions. If so, should just post to this blog entry or is there another way to contact you? Thanks again.

      • You can post here or email me at forheavenandhome at gmail dot com. (Sorry to have to spell it out like that–gotta keep ahead of the bots!)

Leave a Reply

