Random musings from a Wife, Mom, Homeschooler, Student, and Friend

I fell in love with this lamp…

ApothLampAfter3

Eddie Ross: Before & After – A Lamp in the Making

I have a thing for lamps like other girls have for shoes. However, I’m not typically a fan of gourd lamps, but when I saw this one, I fell head over heels. Of course, this one had to be a one-of-a-kind, installed in a cottage in the Hamptons. All I could do was drool from afar. (If you haven’t already, click on the Eddie Ross link below the picture to see how this lamp came to be. Amazing.) So I started looking at other gourd lamps. None of them could match the “Hamptons Lamp.” But, it just so happened that I had a pair of clear glass lamps from Target that I was about to relegate to The Boy’s room. So armed with a Behr paint sample in “Urban Mist,” I set out to see what I could come up with before they went into no-man’s-land.

Before:

507During:

509And AFTER!!!!!

20130320-160104.jpg

20130320-160123.jpg

I love the way the clear glass looks with the paint on the inside. It gives the lamps the depth I loved from the Hampton’s Lamp that was lacking in most ceramic gourd lamps that I have found. I also love the fact that this project only cost me about $6 because I had everything but the paint. So, if you run across these lamps at Target (they are probably on clearance by now), grab them and make them your own!

Comments on: "The Gourd Lamp I Never Knew I Always Wanted" (1)

  1. I love this! Your house looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

