Random musings from a Wife, Mom, Homeschooler, Student, and Friend

Store-bought bread. It’s so soft! So convenient! So colorfully packaged! So perfectly sliced for individual sandwiches! So full of…28 ingredients, most of which I can’t even pronounce. Twenty-eight. And that was from a “healthy” loaf of store-bought bread. I have tremendous amounts of guilt and mental anguish when I buy it.

But, I still buy it.

I also bought a bread machine a while back. The sandwich bread recipe that was included was edible, but that was about it. It didn’t taste good enough to sway my bread-a-vours over to homemade bread on their own, and making my family suffer through it wasn’t a hill I was willing to die on. Also, I’ll fess up here. We are white-bread eaters. Maybe some day I can transition everyone over to spelt or whole wheat, but this post is about baby steps and getting started making bread at home.

So, what does it take to make that transition a happy time? A great recipe. And here it is!

First off, I made rolls for dinner. I got 20 rolls to a 9×13 pan. They…were…delicious! Then I made a loaf for sandwiches. I used the dough function on my bread machine to mix the dough and let it rise, then I popped the dough into a loaf pan and baked it in my oven. (I think bread bakes up much better in the oven, and I didn’t have to fish out the bread machine paddles from the innards of my bread.) The recipe itself is very simple–not counting water it has just 6 ingredients. I did not need the additional water called for, but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. It is a sweeter tasting bread, so today I’m trying it with half the amount of sugar–I’ll update how that goes.

*****************************************************************************************************************

Update: Made today’s batch with 1/2 the sugar and olive oil instead of vegetable oil–PERFECT sandwich bread!

****************************************************************************************************************

Aren’t they pretty?

20130124-105109.jpg

 

I noticed the link wasn’t working, so here is the recipe:

1 cup water, plus
1 tablespoon water (70-80 F)
1 large egg
4 1/2 teaspoons vegetable oil (olive oil here is great too!)
3 1/4 cups bread flour
1/4 cup sugar (I half the sugar and add 2 TBSP of honey)
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
2 1/4 teaspoons instant yeast
2 tablespoons melted butter (for dinner rolls only) (optional)
2 tablespoons shortening (for dinner rolls only) (optional)
Directions:

1
In bread machine pan, place all ingredients from flour through yeast in order as recommended by the manufacturer.
2
Select the basic bread setting.
3
Check dough after 5 minutes of mixing, if needed add 1-2T of water or flour.
4
Bake as normal.
5
For dinner rolls.
6
Mix in bread machine but use only the dough option.
7
Lightly grease a 9 x 13 baking pan (I always use a metal pan).
8
When dough is finished shape into 15 uniformly sized balls. I always grease my hands with shortening to smooth the dough out and it helps keep the dough from drying out.
9
Cover and let the rolls rise in a warm, draft free place until risen to the desired size.
10
I let them about double in size.
11
Bake in a 350° oven about 12-15 minutes until golden brown.
12
After removing from the oven, brush the tops of the rolls with melted butter.
13
Take out of pan and let completely cool before storing.

Read more: <a href=”http://www.food.com/recipe/country-white-bread-or-dinner-rolls-bread-machine-71373?layout=desktop&oc=linkback”>http://www.food.com/recipe/country-white-bread-or-dinner-rolls-bread-machine-71373?layout=desktop&oc=linkback</a&gt;

Comments on: "Baby Steps and Homemade Bread" (2)

  1. That’s eye candy right there!

  2. Oh yeah! Eye candy, mouth candy…If you can’t tell, I like bread.

Leave a Reply

