Random musings from a Wife, Mom, Homeschooler, Student, and Friend

Day 1 of Paths of Exploration was…rocky. I wasn’t used to the format. I had to stop so the kids could complete an activity before plowing ahead. It…bothered me. I think all this time, I’ve been in college mode–load ’em with information then let them finish activities or assignments at the end. Easy for me, but frustrating to my kids. Trail Guide doesn’t roll like that.

Day 2 was better. A lot better. I am so glad it didn’t take long for my aha! moment. I started to love the format. The way the information is both presented and divided by age/ability level is brilliant. I was working with Lemony with spelling orally, while Beanie and The Boy were writing out their spelling. It was so organic and wonderful! I know I’m gushing, but this is just so revolutionary that I can’t help myself! During copywork, Lemony and Beanie share the main textbook, but The Boy for his level copies out a completely different passage from our read-aloud book. It just works.

20120912-105204.jpg

Day 3–I’m learning to appreciate the pauses. The kids are doing their copywork, and I am answering questions as they come up while writing this post.

A note–I have a Leisurely Lucy in my group. She is a dreamer and a dawdler. I started having her stop when the other two had completed a section and let her finish later. Apparently, she didn’t like that. 🙂 Today, she was the first one done. That alone is worth the price of admission!

***

We are using Our 24 Family Ways by Clay Clarkson for our Bible time. We’ve had some great question-and-answer times this week using this book. I’m excited to see how the kids react to this book over the next several weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

