Random musings from a Wife, Mom, Homeschooler, Student, and Friend

A Friend Indeed

I met her through our daughters. They became BFFs at AWANA this year, and towards the end of the year, she and I got to talking. She invited me to an activity a couple of months ago, but I wasn’t able to go. Things didn’t really get off the ground for us. Then the other day, she called me to see if we could go berry picking with her and her kids. We were all set to go when the Balrog of Morgoth reared his ugly head. When she called this morning, I could barely speak, let alone get off the couch, wrangle up the kids, head out into this heat, and pick berries. Worse yet, I had to tell this lovely fellow homeschooling mom that we were moving. Like this weekend. Like we just found out for sure yesterday. Today was our last chance to get together, and I was as worthless as a dirty dishrag.

All this year, I wanted to get to know this woman. She’s chatty and unsure and confident and crunchy and carefree and Type A all rolled into this cute, frazzled little package. (In her defense, she has 5 kids–the youngest three are the cutest little boys, but boy oh boy are they boys!)  On the phone she mentioned that she might stop by my house to let the girls say goodbye, but she just wasn’t real sure. A while later, 5 cute kids in tow, an armful of food for us for dinner, she came by and met Millie. And told me why she wasn’t sure she was coming over after all.

Apparently, getting up early, doing schoolwork with the older two, berry picking alone with 5 children (again, I have to mention that the youngest 3 are boys, all 5 and under), and shopping at Sam’s Club almost did her in. In a moment of frugality, she selected a gallon sized container of soap with a convenient pump attachment over the 2 quart bottle sans pump that was only $3 cheaper. With savings like that, who could resist? Well, apparently no one could resist that deal, especially not her 2-year-old son. That pump attachment was just too convenient and fun. Little did she know that she was leaving a trail of soap in her wake with every step and pump. By the time she got to the check-out, he was covered in soap, and the trail made it obvious who made the mess. I had to laugh when she told me; she was gracious enough to chuckle a bit. I wouldn’t have blamed her if she had just gone on home. But she didn’t. She came with comforting words and food and conversation. Exactly what I needed. Thank you, Lord, for a sweet new friend.

***

As if this weren’t enough, her sisters live in the town where we are moving. She’s heading there tomorrow. We will meet up again sometime. I’ve always said that I don’t believe in coincidences. I believe in a great big wonderful God.

Leave a Reply

