Random musings from a Wife, Mom, Homeschooler, Student, and Friend

Books: Apologia

I ordered Apologia’s Exploring Creation with Zoology 3: Land Animals of the Sixth Day for Lemony. As soon as it was out of the box, she scooped it up and has been toting it around ever since. “Oh look, Mommy! The arctic fox is so cute!” I want a red-eared slider! Is that thing a worm or a snake?” More often than not, she and Beanie are practically sitting on each other looking at that book and reading about the animals. Internally, I want to say, “DUDE! It’s a textbook!” But I know it is far more than that. Since my first introduction to the Apologia series for elementary science, I knew these were much more than textbooks. They proclaim a Creator!

“But ask the animals, and they will teach you, or the birds in the sky, and they will tell you; or speak to the earth, and it will teach you, or let the fish in the sea inform you. Which of all these does not know that the hand of the Lord has done this?” Job 12:7-9

These are beautiful books that will be treasured in our home library for years to come. The Boy has already claimed the Apologia Astronomy book as his favorite. The authors show how “The heavens declare the glory of God and the skies proclaim the work of His hands” in a beautiful, meaningful way.

 

For myself, I ordered How to Have a H.E.A.R.T. for Your Kids by Rachel Carman. I read it cover-to-cover in about a day, but I know I will return to it as a reference, a reminder, and as a devotion book. I wish this book had been written when I started my homeschooling journey, but it is here now, and it is not too late to make some positive changes!

 

Lastly, I ordered Apologia’s Who is God? And Can I Really Know Him? from the What We Believe series with the notebook and coloring book. I’m planning to use it as a daily devotional with the kids, letting them alternate writing in the notebook. Lemony will get the coloring book. She told me she already planned to do the first seven pages on the first day of the study. Ah, the smell of ambition is in the air! I can’t wait to dig into this series–if it is anything like their science, I know it will be worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

