Random musings from a Wife, Mom, Homeschooler, Student, and Friend

Spinning

My sister reminded me of it yesterday…being a small girl, alone on a swing, singing my heart out to the sky. Freedom to be. Happy. Free. Oh the freshness of those spring days in the country!

Fast forward to now. It’s cold. I’m grumpy. The dust bunny conference on “How to Replicate Nocturnally without Detection or Resistance” must have been a huge success because now the dishes and Legos are also multiplying in the night. I started going down a path of complaining, and I just had to stop and start spinning…

My fist full of dirty silverware? Happiness that I have a houseful of well-fed children!

Legos on the floor? Creative children using the toys that we have. (And, a teachable moment about putting things away.)

I am so good at spinning things, usually in a negative direction. It is time to spin things in a direction that makes me see the blessings in these situations, not just the work or the worry. Even with my arms up to my elbows in dishwater, I can spin the blessings.

Leave a Reply

