Random musings from a Wife, Mom, Homeschooler, Student, and Friend

I got a call yesterday from my Mama that may have started an avalanche. I had been crocheting up a storm for a while, but when I got to the project for Beanie, things unraveled. (Ugh, it is too early for puns. Where’s my coffee cup?) I told myself that with my class coming up I was just too busy to work on it, but honestly, I think I just hadn’t found the right combination of pattern and ease of work. I want a fun crochet project. Fairly mindless, but beautiful. Mama to the rescue! She told me about the Wool Eater pattern–perfect! And, after some searching, I even found it in American. I can’t wait to get it started.

Mom taught me to crochet. How she ever found the patience to do it is beyond me. I’ve tried to teach my own kids, but I think I’d rather teach the dog to parallel park. But, that’s my Mama–she’s a teacher. And better yet, she’s a teacher with patience. My earliest memories are of Mom at her sewing machine and my sister Beak and I playing with scraps of fabric at her feet. She taught us how to hand sew a seam and how to sew on a button. In the kitchen, she would show us how to make cookies and pies–she insists that her heavenly pie crust is “simple to make” but I’m pretty sure that Leonardo Da Vinci once said that his paintings were just egg yolks mixed with pigment on a canvas. I haven’t mastered the crust, but I can make a pretty good imitation of Mom’s dill bread, and maybe, just maybe, a better pound cake. But it is still her recipe, and I do it the same way she taught me.

I’ve often heard it said that it’s the quiet ones you’ve got to watch out for, and that is the truth. The quiet ones seem to be the best teachers, the ones with the most to give. Mom’s Dad was like this as well. So many lessons! I wish I could go back and drink them in again. How to use soap to drive in a screw. How to tell the difference in tracks of wild animals. How to make the perfect fudge and stuffed peppers. How to invent a machine that revolutionized the world of direct mailing. All in a day’s work for the quiet ones. It is wonderful thing to be quiet and inventive and industrious, but it in a whole new realm of greatness to be able to share that love and passion patiently with others. That is where my Mama and her Dad before her just shine.

Comments on: "Whatcha doin’, Mama?" (3)

  1. Donna O'Toole said:

    Thank you, sweetheart. Oh, to hear Grandpa’s ratttlesnake story one more time! I miss my daddy.

  2. How did I miss this? You know what’s funny? I wanted to write this very same story….. It’s creepy how much alike we are! This is so special. You made me smile and laugh today!

Leave a Reply

