Random musings from a Wife, Mom, Homeschooler, Student, and Friend

Hello. My name is Friday. And I am a stacker. A piler. An attacker of all surfaces horizontal. A guerrilla warrior of clutter–you’ll never catch me doing it, but BAM! There it is. And to prove that I am not afraid (ashamed? yes, but not afraid) to show you, here is a picture of my dining room yesterday:

20110812-114620.jpg

Yes, I am still in mid-rearrange here, but to be very honest, most of this stuff has been stacked like this for weeks. Stacked with good intentions but poor follow-through. How wonderful would it be to have a clear surface–say an entire dining room table–to use whatever the reason? For actually sitting down for meals. For schoolwork. For crafts. For sewing. I can see it now, glistening with clarity, unending spans of flat workspace! Oh the possibilities! And the best part for my fellow twiners/shoestringers–it’s free!

So, how to do this? There has to be a formula for clear horizontals spaces. Somewhere in the fathoms of algebra, geometry, trigonometry, telemetry…

The mental process that I have been going through is much like my favorite exchange in the movie Hook:

Smee: I’ve just had an apostrophe.
Captain Hook: I think you mean an epiphany.
Smee: [gestures his fingers to his head] Lightning has just struck my brain.
Captain Hook: Well, that must hurt.

Yes, it does hurt. The simplest answers are usually painfully obvious. This one was no exception. Set the table! The formula is simple and actually requires no calculus or even long division: set the table for the desired activity, clear the table immediately after said activity, keep the table clear between times. Voila!!!

Side note: this blog is obviously not intended for BOs. (Those Born Organized people, term courtesy of the Side-tracked Home Executives.) Any BOs are welcome to read this, marvel at the fact that a grown woman with 17 years experience in running her own home just now figured out how to keep her table clear, and giggle amongst yourselves.

I’m giving myself a weeklong challenge to keep the table clear. Which means that I need to finish organizing the dining room, which means I need to figure out where everything is supposed to go, which means I really should resurrect my bed-making challenge…kinda like giving a mouse a cookie, huh?

 

Leave a Reply

