Random musings from a Wife, Mom, Homeschooler, Student, and Friend

A common theme in the books I’ve been reading is focusing on what is important, not what is urgent. For too long, the urgent has ruled my life. The phone rings, the toilet overflows, the washroom floods, the Hubs is Febreezing his undies again. The urgent is going to happen, and it will need to be dealt with, but a pinch of planning can help.

As I have been thinking through the Home Making Project, I asked myself what I want all this to look like. Balancing my schooling, homeschooling, and housewifery in a meaningful, satisfying way is going to take a lot more than mild attention and a never ending supply of fabric refresher. It will take planning, of course, and letting go of fear, frustration, and a sense of failure.  (Ooooo–I just alliterated didn’t I?)

I finished reading The Reluctant Entertainer by Sandy Coughlin today. This book is so much more than a book about entertaining! We have to let go of our inner perfectionism in order to embrace gracious living.  Not the “pinkies up!” type of pseudo-graciousness. The real. The transparent. Daughters of grace sharing who we are and what we have.

Leave a Reply

