Random musings from a Wife, Mom, Homeschooler, Student, and Friend

I have been given a year, July 2011-July 2012, to do some things that I never expected. I get to move into the city. I get to live in a quirky, century-old home. I get to be within walking distance of shops and the library. I get to untangle from extra commitments that are wonderful, but that also take my time and focus away from my family. I can test out a new way to live–I’m excited about this!

Of course, I could have done this all along, but it frankly never dawned on me to try. Ever since I knew we were going to move, an idea to do something special has been percolating in my mind. I’ve been reading and reading and reading– Organized Simplicity  (and SimpleMom.net blog site) by Tsh Oxenreider, Steady Days by Jamie Martin, The Reluctant Entertainer by Sandy Coughlin, Managers of Their Homes by Steve and Teri Maxwell, For the Children’s Sake by Susan Schaeffer Macaulay, along with kids’ cookbooks and craft books, with numerous web and magazine articles on homeschooling, homemaking, simplicity, and organization. Like a kid in a candy store, I’m greedily scooping up great ideas to try. When I peel the wrappers off all these ideas and dig in, I found the creamy center is home.

What is “home?” I know my home in practice will not look like another’s home, but what exactly is home?  I like this universal definition of home I found online:

“A dwelling place together with the family that occupies it; a household; an environment offering

security and happiness…

A valued place regarded as a refuge or place of origin…

The place where something is

discovered,

founded,

developed,

or promoted.”

Everything that I want for my kids, myself, and my husband is wrapped up in that definition! Security, happiness, discovery of self and knowledge, moral foundations, character development, and positive promotion–the framework is all there for the housewife/homeschooler to take and run with! What a privilege! What a gift! What is this going to look like in action? . . . I HAVE NO IDEA! 😉

I’m staring at an empty, year-long canvas. Any medium I wish to use to fill it (um, except cash!) is possible. I want this masterpiece to be clean, uncluttered, and beautiful. Homemade. Scratch-n-sniff with the smell of fresh bread that my children helped bake, bound with patchwork squares their little fingers sewed, edited by living books that stretch their imaginations. Filled with things to say, do, make, taste, touch, share, love. Less Facebook, more face time. Less email, more letters. Less television, more board games.

I know I am still in the stratosphere here.  “Why are you messing with the fantasy? We know about the reality. Don’t mess with the fantasy, okay?” Okay, Gary. Thanks for the reminder. Stay tuned…

Comments on: "Just One Year: The Home Making Project" (1)

  1. […] 6 weeks minus 1 day, the Just One Year: Homemaking Project will be over. As of right now, we don’t know where we will be living or where The Hubs will […]

Leave a Reply

