Random musings from a Wife, Mom, Homeschooler, Student, and Friend

Few things are as terrible to me as a Mom as the sound of gut-wrenching sobs coming from one of my children. But, that’s exactly what I heard when I came upstairs last night. Lemony, in bed, crying as if her heart was breaking. And I think it really was.

We had had such a nice day:

20120715-073527.jpg

The girls dismantled this fairy ring later on. Apparently fairy rings are supposed to be made of flowers, not rocks. Who knew fairies were so picky?

20120715-073536.jpg

Lemony hates it when I take her picture when she is doing something cute, but I just can’t resist! She is just so darn cute!

20120715-073544.jpg

Who knew that fairies imported their cinnamon scent from Trader Joes?

20120715-073553.jpg

The first fairy gift was a sparkly gem!

20120715-073605.jpg

The second fairy gift was packets of fairy dust! Lemony promptly dumped hers all over her head and wished with all her might that she would turn into a fairy. Nothing happened. She turned to me sadly and said, “This stuff doesn’t work.” The Boy looked at her and said sweetly, “You look shorter to me!”

20120715-073616.jpg

Every few minutes, Lemony would have me or Beanie check her back to see if her wings were growing in yet.

Later, Lemony started really thinking about her fairy-transformation. She asked Beanie, “You’re going to miss me when I’m not normal, aren’t you?” She seemed a bit sad, but she wasn’t deterred. She had already shrunk several inches. (Having her platform shoes off when she measured helped, but I didn’t feel the need to point that out at the time.) She was on her way to becoming a fairy! By supper time, I knew this was more than play, and she was going to end up hurt. Ah, Mom to the rescue! I came up with a cute rhyming chant that counteracted the fairy dust and explained that Mamas don’t like to have their little girls taken away from them and they have the power to stop the transformation. Lemony was not happy about that idea, but she thought I was joking, so she didn’t give it much thought. Throughout the evening I kept it up lightly, and said at midnight, she would be a little girl again.

Before bed, Lemony realized she was no longer shrinking.

Half an hour later, sobs. “I’m never going to imagine again! I’ll never get my dream!” Ugh. Arrow. Heart. Direct hit.

Child’s play is serious business. I didn’t know just how serious until last night. Who am I to run in and rescue? Would it have been better for her to wake up this morning and learn the truth by herself? To invent her own reason for it?

I just took her to my room and cuddled her. I asked her if she could please stay my sweet little Lemony because I couldn’t imagine my life without her. She hugged me and agreed and went to sleep.

***

When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things. (I Cor. 13:11) The time will come when fairy rings and wings and midnight flights to the moon are put away as childish things. Right now though,while they are children, and the world is open and full of limitless possibilities. And some hurt too. But, I can’t take that away. I can listen and smile. And not meddle.  Or at least try not to meddle…

Comments on: "How To Break a Fairy’s Heart" (1)

  1. This is so sweet. I love your precious girl!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

