Random musings from a Wife, Mom, Homeschooler, Student, and Friend

Few things give me as much pleasure as painting a room or creating a spreadsheet! Today, I offer not one, oohhhhhh noooooooooo, but two, yes TWO, spreadsheets for your viewing pleasure!!!

Grocery/Meals Planning

It seemed counterintuitive to me in the beginning to meal plan. Wouldn’t setting aside time every week to plan meals, clip coupons, and fill out a grocery list just add to my weekly chore list? After all, what I’ve been doing (waiting until 5:30 to see if I have anything to cook, scratching my head wondering what in the heck I’m going to make for dinner with 3 simple ingredients–frozen peas, chocolate frosting, and barbeque sauce, or giving up and getting fast food) has worked pretty well so far, right? With austerity being forced on us, and my genuine desire for simplicity in  homemaking, I knew I had to try something else. (Barbeque peas in chocolate sauce will not make the menu.)

So, to the internet!!! At http://orgjunkie.com/2009/04/free-grocery-list-template.html, I found a great master grocery list. Almost perfect, but not. For one thing, she had categories I didn’t need. For another, she used a bold, black border around her cells and colored headers–that takes a lot of printer ink when you are printing something every week. Visually appealing, but not practical to print. And to be perfectly honest, I just wanted to make my own! Meal planning, coupon clipping, and compiling the grocery list will (hopefully!) happen every Sunday.

Towards The Home Making Project, the meal planning spreadsheet will help me include the kids in the planning process. Each child is assigned a meal  as my helper. Ideally, this one-on-one time will help me to teach them the basics of cooking, planning, prep and clean-up. And spreadsheet making. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

